Lawrence NJ Cocaine Possession Lawyers
With Offices in Trenton and Pennington
Cocaine possession is one of the most serious drug charges in New Jersey. In fact, New Jersey law prohibits a person from possessing any amount of cocaine. Even if you are found with trace amounts of cocaine on your person, you can be charged with felony cocaine possession. Moreover, the law applies to cocaine in any form, whether it is a powder that is snorted through the nose or “crack” rocks that are smoked. Regardless of the circumstances, it is imperative that you contact a lawyer because the consequences of a conviction are severe.
The criminal defense lawyers at Kamensky Cohen & Riechelson have spent more than 40 years earning the respect of their peers in the legal community. We have successfully represented numerous clients facing drug charges in Hopewell Borough, Robbinsville, and everywhere else in Mercer County, NJ. Additionally, a member of our litigation team was selected for inclusion in the prestigious New Jersey “Super Lawyers.” This means he is in the top five percent of all New Jersey lawyers, as voted on by other attorneys in the state. Call KCR now to get an experienced and highly regarded legal team on your side.
Cocaine Possession Law in New Jersey
Cocaine possession charges are governed by N.J.S.A. 2C:35-10. Cocaine is classified as a Schedule II controlled dangerous substance (CDS). This means that it is considered highly addictive, dangerous for users, and has only limited use by medical professionals.
You can be charged with cocaine possession even if the drugs were not found on your person. That’s because the law applies to both actual possession and constructive possession. This means that the cocaine was nearby and you had the ability to exercise control over the cocaine. A good example of constructive possession is when a person stashes cocaine in the glove compartment of their car.
Penalties for Possession of Cocaine in Mercer County NJ
Most of the time, cocaine possession is classified as a third degree felony. This means that the case will be heard in the county superior court, with the potential for significant time behind bars if you are convicted. Anyone convicted of cocaine possession in New Jersey may be sentenced to 3–5 years in prison and fined up to $35,000. The court can also suspend your driver’s license for 6 months–2 years.
You may be subject to enhanced penalties if you were caught with cocaine in a protected area such as a school zone.
Enhanced Penalties for Possession of Cocaine with Intent to Distribute
If you are caught with enough cocaine to suggest that it is not intended for personal use, the prosecutor may consider charging you with possession of cocaine with intent to distribute. This is essentially a cocaine distribution charge, meaning that you will be subject to enhanced penalties.
Pre-Trial Intervention for Cocaine Charge Defendants in Mercer County NJ
First-time offenders may be eligible for Pre-Trial Intervention (PTI). PTI is a diversionary program that allows individuals to avoid prison and keep their permanent records clear of a drug crime conviction. The main requirements for admission are that the offender has not previously been convicted of a crime and the offender has not already been admitted into PTI.
Free Consultation with Princeton NJ Cocaine Possession Attorneys
The attorneys at Kamensky Cohen & Riechelson are not afraid to take the tough cases. We will provide you with top-notch legal representation because we understand that your freedom could be at stake. Call us now to discuss your cocaine possession charges, or email us to schedule an appointment at our Pennington or Trenton offices.