Commercial DUI Lawyers Trenton
Commercially licensed drivers are held to a higher standard than other drivers. Even a few beers could be enough to push a commercial driver over the legal limit in New Jersey. This can have severe consequences for you and your family. If you are convicted of a commercial DWI, your career might be in jeopardy. That’s because a violation of New Jersey CDL DWI law will almost certainly result in suspension of your commercial driver’s license for a very long time. Additionally, truck companies are extremely reluctant to hire a driver with a DWI conviction on their record.
Hamilton Commercial DWI Defense
Kamensky Cohen & Riechelson is a DWI defense team with more than 40 years of experience in Mercer County, including East Windsor, Hamilton, and Ewing. Our skilled attorneys have fought on behalf of clients facing all kinds of drunk driving charges, including commercial DWI violations. Additionally, our litigation team includes a New Jersey “Super Lawyer” and a Certified Trial Attorney, so we definitely know our way around the courtroom. Call KCR today to discuss your CDL drunk driving charges.
CDL DWI Statute: N.J.S.A. 39:10-13
Commercial DWIs are addressed by N.J.S.A. 39:10-13. The legal limit for drivers in New Jersey is .08 percent blood alcohol concentration (BAC). However, this legal limit only applies in private vehicles. The CDL DWI statute imposes a higher standard on drivers of commercial vehicles: anyone caught driving a commercial vehicle with a BAC of .04 percent or higher can be charged with a CDL DWI.
CDL DWI Penalties in Mercer County, NJ
The penalties for a commercial DWI vary, depending upon the number of prior offenses.
If you are convicted of a first offense CDL DWI, you are still subject to the same penalties as a standard DWI, including up to 30 days in jail and basic license suspension for 3 months. In addition to these penalties, you will also face a suspension of your commercial driver’s license for 1 year; if the violation involved a HAZMAT vehicle, the commercial driver’s license suspension will be for 3 years.
A conviction for a second offense CDL DWI will result in a mandatory lifetime suspension of your commercial driver’s license, in addition to the penalties for a standard DWI offense.
Note: If your CDL is suspended for a second offense, you may be able to apply for reinstatement after 10 years.
Personal Vehicles and Out-of-State DWIs
The commercial DWI law applies whether you were over the legal limit in a work vehicle or a personal vehicle; the penalties in both instances are the same. Additionally, the penalties for a CDL DWI violation apply even if you were charged with a DWI in another state.
Schedule a Free Consultation with Hightstown DUI Lawyers
The drunk driving defense lawyers Kamensky Cohen & Riechelson know what it takes to win a commercial DWI case in New Jersey. Give us a call today to discuss your charges, or email us to arrange a visit to one of our offices in Trenton and Pennington.