DUI Fines Trenton NJ
DWI charges in New Jersey can lead to serious penalties, including jail time, license suspension, and costly fines. In addition to being slapped with court-imposed fines, you can also expect a DWI conviction to result in other monetary penalties and NJ MVC surcharges. If you fail to pay court-ordered fines, the court can issue a warrant for your arrest. Additionally, it will be almost impossible to get out of paying the fines; even if you end up declaring bankruptcy, you will still be on the hook for the DWI fines.
Hamilton DWI Penalties
Kamensky Cohen & Riechelson is a highly respected law firm with a rich tradition in New Jersey. Our lawyers have more than 40 years of experience in Hamilton, East Windsor, and everywhere else in Mercer County. In fact, our strong background in DWI cases gives us a major advantage when we represent you and fight your charges.
DWI Fines in New Jersey
The fines for a DWI violation in New Jersey vary, depending upon the number of prior offenses:
- DWI First Offense w/ BAC .08–.10 Percent: $250–$400
- DWI First Offense w/ BAC .10 Percent or Higher: $300–$500
- DWI Second Offense: $500–$1,000
- DWI Third Offense: $1,000
If you are convicted of a DWI in a School Zone, the fines are basically doubled:
- DWI in a School Zone First Offense: $500–$800
- DWI in a School Zone Second Offense: $1,000–$2,000
- DWI in a School Zone Third Offense: $2,000
Fines for Drug-Related DUI in Mercer County, NJ
The penalties for drug-related DUI charges are similar to the penalties for DWI alcohol charges:
- DUI Drugs First Offense: $300–$500
- DUI Drugs Second Offense: $500–$1,000
- DUI Drugs Third Offense: $1,000
Fines for Breath Test Refusal in Pennington, NJ
Many people mistakenly think that they should refuse to take a breath test when requested by an officer. The truth is that you should never refuse the breath test because you have already offered implied consent by virtue of being licensed to drive in New Jersey. If you refuse the breath test, you will not only face Refusal charges; you will still be subject to DWI penalties as well.
The fines for a Refusal conviction are dependent upon the number of prior offenses:
- Refusal First Offense: $300–$500
- Refusal Second Offense: $500–$1,000
- Refusal Third Offense: $1,000
Schedule a Free Consultation with a Princeton DUI Attorney
All DWI cases are fact-specific. This is why you should consult with an attorney at your earliest convenience. An experienced DWI attorney can examine the facts of your case and determine the best strategy to help you avoid the most serious DWI penalties.
The attorneys at Kamensky Cohen & Riechelson are prepared to fight for you. With a skilled member of our DWI litigation team on your side, there is no such thing as an automatic DWI conviction. Call us today to discuss your case, or fill out the online contact form to schedule a free consultation at our offices in Trenton or Pennington, NJ.