IRDC Alcohol Education Mercer County
All persons convicted of a DWI violation in New Jersey are required to participate in the state’s Intoxicated Driver Program. The main component of the NJ Intoxicated Driver Program is Alcohol and Highway Safety Education classes at the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC). Attendance at IDRC classes is mandatory. If you fail to show up for these classes, you will not be able to get your driver’s license restored. You may also be subject to additional fines.
Trenton DWI Defense Law Firm
Kamensky Cohen & Riechelson is a DWI defense team with more than 40 years of experience in New Jersey. We regularly appear in courts throughout Mercer County, including West Windsor, Hopewell Township, and Robbinsville. Additionally, our litigation team includes a New Jersey “Super Lawyer” and a Certified Trial Attorney, so we understand the nuances of DWI laws and know our way around the courtroom. Call KCR today to begin your defense.
New Jersey IDRC Requirements: Alcohol Education
The IDRC provides education for drunk drivers, drugged drivers, and underage drinkers. Participation in IDRC classes is mandatory for anyone convicted of a DWI. Even out-of-state drivers convicted of a DWI in New Jersey are required to meet IDRC requirements.
In addition to educating offenders, the IDRC provides screening intervention, treatment referral, and monitoring. As part of the IDRC program, you will be screened and evaluated. If one of the program’s evaluators determines that you have an alcohol problem, you may be required to undergo extended alcohol treatment. This treatment lasts a minimum of four months; you may be required to attend monitored treatment for up to one year. You will also be required to pay all necessary fees and costs if you are referred to a treatment program.
Mercer County DWI Penalties: IDRC Classes
The IDRC requirements vary, depending upon the number of prior DWI convictions:
- First Offense: A first-time DWI offender will be required to attend IDRC classes and be evaluated for 12 hours at the county IDRC facility.
- Second Offense: A second DWI offense will result in the offender attending IDRC classes and undergoing treatment and evaluation for 48 hours in a regional IDRC facility.
- Third Offense: A third DWI offense will result in significant penalties, including a requirement to be evaluated for 12 hours at the county IDRC facility.
Costs and Monetary Penalties
A DWI conviction means that you will be responsible for paying for the IDRC classes. You will have to pay a $100 attendance fee, a $230 offender fee, a $100 license restoration fee, and a per diem fee of $75 per day. Failure to pay all of the fees in a timely manner will result in additional penalties, including extension of license suspension and possible jail time.
Contact Hopewell Borough DUI Lawyers
The drunk driving defense lawyers at Kamensky Cohen & Riechelson understand the nuances of New Jersey DWI law. We know how to effectively challenge the evidence in your case and help you avoid the most serious penalties. Call or email us today to schedule a free consultation at our Pennington or Trenton offices.