Ignition Interlock Devices Trenton New Jersey
If you are convicted of a DWI offense in New Jersey, the court may order you to install an ignition interlock device on all of your motor vehicles. The device is attached to the engine of a motor vehicle. A driver must blow into the device prior to starting the vehicle. Much like a breathalyzer, the device measures the driver’s blood alcohol concentration (BAC). If the BAC exceeds .05 percent, the vehicle will not start. Additionally, the ignition interlock device will require the driver to continue testing their BAC every few minutes while driving.
Hamilton DUI Penalties
The drunk driving attorneys at Kamensky Cohen & Riechelson know how to challenge DWI charges and help you avoid the most serious DWI penalties, such as ignition interlock device requirements. Our DWI defense team has more than 40 years of experience handling these kinds of cases in Mercer County, NJ, including Hightstown, Hamilton, and Ewing. Call KCR today to discuss your DWI or DUI charges.
Ignition Interlock Devices for Mercer County DWI Offenses
N.J.S.A. 39:4-50:16 requires installation of an ignition interlock device for certain DWI convictions:
- First Offense DWI: For a first DWI offense, the court has the discretion to require an ignition interlock device for 6 months–1 year after restoration of your license. If your BAC exceeded .15 percent, installation of the ignition interlock device is mandatory.
- Second Offense DWI: For a second DWI offense, installation of the ignition interlock device is required for 1–3 years following license restoration.
- Third Offense DWI: For a third DWI offense, the penalty is the same; installation of the ignition interlock device is required for 1–3 years following license restoration.
- Refusal: A Refusal to Submit to a Breath Test conviction will result in a requirement to install an ignition interlock device on your vehicles for 6 months–1 year.
Additional DWI Penalties: License Suspension
If you fail to follow the court order to install ignition interlock devices on all of your vehicles, you could be subject to suspension of your license for an additional year. Additionally, if you are caught having someone else blow into the ignition interlock device for you, you face more severe penalties. Moreover, since it is against the law to tamper with an ignition interlock device, a person may be charged with a disorderly persons offense for interfering with the device.
Call Lawrence Township DUI Lawyers
The skilled DWI defense team at Kamensky Cohen & Riechelson will fight tirelessly to protect your rights and beat your drunk driving charges. Our mission has always been to provide our clients with the best possible outcome for their legal issues, which is why we will do everything possible to challenge the evidence against you and prevent the court from requiring installation of ignition interlock devices on your cars. Call us today, or email us to schedule a free consultation at our Trenton or Pennington offices.