Insurance Rates for DWI in NJ

Insurance Rate Increase for a DUI Ewing

Although the immediate impact of a DWI conviction in New Jersey can be jail time, loss of driving privileges, expensive fines, and other significant penalties, one of the most long-lasting effects of a DWI conviction can be higher insurance rates. Insurance premiums are determined by a number of factors, including the type of car, the driver’s age, and the geographical location. The most important factor might be your driving record. This means that your insurance premiums will be greatly affected by a DWI conviction.

Fight Princeton DWI Charges

The lawyers at Kamensky Cohen & Riechelson have more than 40 years of experience handling DWI cases in Mercer County, NJ, including Hightstown, West Windsor, and Hamilton. Our drunk driving litigation team includes a New Jersey “Super Lawyer” and a Certified Trial Attorney, so you can trust that we will fight tenaciously for you in the courtroom. Call KCR now to speak with one of our lawyers and begin your defense.

Auto Insurance Premiums in Mercer County, NJ

DWI convictions show up on your driving record. If you have a DWI conviction on your record, you will likely be paying significantly more for auto insurance for years to come. Additionally, when it comes time to renew your policy, the auto insurance company will probably review your record. If you have been convicted of a DWI, your annual premium could double or even triple. In the worst cases, your insurance company might drop you altogether. If your current insurance company drops you, you could find it difficult to get coverage from another insurance company.

New Jersey DWI Insurance Points

Although DWI convictions do not result in points on your license, you will be assessed insurance points by your insurance company. Insurance points are used by insurance companies to determine policy rates because they can lead to you being labeled a “high-risk driver.” As a result, more insurance points will likely result in a more expensive policy. A first-time DWI offender may be assessed nine insurance points.

SR-22 Auto Insurance Coverage in New Jersey

If you are convicted of a DWI, you will be required to provide evidence that you have sufficient auto insurance coverage before your license is restored. This means you must secure an SR-22 document, which is prepared by your insurance company. The SR-22 form will be required for three years after a DWI conviction.

Free Consultation with Lawrence DWI Defense Attorneys

Kamensky Cohen & Riechelson is a results-oriented firm made up of skilled negotiators and tenacious litigators who know how to win in the courtroom. Call us today to discuss your DWI charges, or email us to arrange a meeting at one of our offices in Pennington and Trenton.

Contact Kamensky Cohen & Riechelson

The experienced lawyers you can trust. We focus on success and get results. That’s why we’ve been trusted by clients for over 40 years.

Let us help you navigate your legal challenges.
Call (609) 528-2596 or (215) 337-4915 or send us an email. We're here when you need us.