Jail Sentences for DWI Hamilton NJ
Although a DWI violation is typically not considered a criminal offense in New Jersey, you are still subject to jail time for a drunk driving conviction. In fact, anyone convicted of a second or third DWI offense faces a mandatory jail sentence. Even if you are only sentenced to a few days in jail, imagine having to explain this absence from work to your employer. Not only could your freedom be at stake; your livelihood and ability to earn a living could also be adversely affected by a DWI conviction. That’s why it is imperative that you have the best possible legal representation in your DWI case.
Trenton DUI Jail Time
The attorneys at Kamensky Cohen & Riechelson have more than 40 years of experience handling DWI cases in Mercer County, NJ, including Lawrence, Princeton, and Hightstown. Our attorneys believe that every client deserves a strong defense because we understand that everyone makes mistakes in life. When you hire KCR to represent you, our DWI litigation team will immediately get to work to provide you with the best possible outcome and help you avoid jail time.
N.J.S.A. 39:4-50: DWI Jail Sentences in Mercer County
DWI violations in New Jersey are governed by N.J.S.A. 39:4-50. As set forth by the statute, anyone convicted of impaired driving is subject to severe penalties that may include jail time. The amount of jail time that a driver is exposed to varies, depending upon the number of prior offenses.
The good news is that most first-time offenders are able to avoid jail time. However, judges to have discretion to sentence a first-time DWI offender to 2–30 days in county jail.
If you are convicted of a subsequent DWI offense, you are far more likely to receive jail time because NJ prosecutors and judges are cracking down on repeat offenders. A second offense DWI will result in a mandatory minimum sentence of 2 days in county jail. If your DWI violation was particularly egregious – perhaps you registered an excessively high BAC – you could be sentenced to as many as 90 days in jail.
A conviction for third offense DWI will result in a mandatory sentence of 6 months in jail. However, it might be possible for you to get 90 days of this jail sentence converted into attendance at alcohol education classes or community service; this will be at the discretion of the judge in your case.
Free Consultation with Trenton DUI Lawyers
You should never automatically plead guilty to a DWI. Speak with one of the experienced lawyers at Kamensky Cohen & Riechelson before you make any decisions about what to do with your drunk driving case. Call us anytime to discuss your charges, or fill out the online contact form to schedule a meeting at our Trenton office.