DUI License Suspension Princeton
One of the most significant penalties in DWI cases is loss of driving privileges in the State of New Jersey. Imagine how difficult your life will be if you are unable to drive. How will you get to and from work? This is a real possibility because NJ law imposes mandatory license suspension for DWI convictions. You will also face a mandatory license suspension if you are convicted of Refusal to Submit to a Breath Test.
Ewing DWI Loss of License Lawyers
Kamensky Cohen & Riechelson is a well-respected law firm with more than 40 years of experience in New Jersey. We handle drunk driving cases on a daily basis throughout Mercer County, including West Windsor, Lawrence, and Hamilton. Our ties to the community and local connections make as an invaluable resource for anyone who is facing suspension of their driver’s license for a DWI violation. Call KCR now so that a member of our investigative team can examine the facts of your case and determine your best defense.
Mercer County DWI Penalties: Loss of Driving Privileges
The period of license suspension is determined your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) and the number of prior DWI offenses:
- First Offense w/ BAC .08–.10 Percent: 3 months
- First Offense w/ BAC .10 Percent or Higher: 7 months–1 year
- Second Offense: 2 years
- Third Offense: 10 years
Commercial drivers are subject to enhanced penalties, including an extended period of license suspension. A second CDL DWI offense will result in permanent revocation of the defendant’s commercial driver’s license.
Additionally, a minor who is convicted of underage DWI in New Jersey is subject to a 30–90 day license suspension or equivalent delay in the processing of their driver’s license if they do not yet have a license.
Restoring Your NJ Driver’s License
Your license is not automatically restored at the conclusion of the period of suspension. You will need to satisfy certain requirements in order to get your license reinstated:
- Alcohol Education: In order to get your license back after a DWI suspension, you will need to complete alcohol education classes and treatment at the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC). Failure to comply with IDRC requirements will not only result in a denial of your application for license restoration; you could also be sentenced to jail time.
- Community Service: You will also be required to complete any community service imposed by the court.
- Fines: You must pay, in full, any fines or monetary penalties imposed in your case.
- Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC) Surcharges: You will also need to make annual payments for MVC surcharges.
- Fees: You will also need to pay a $100 restoration fee.
- Ignition Interlock Devices: If the court ordered you to install ignition interlock devices on your vehicles, you will need to prove that you have done so before the MVC will restore your license.
If you are caught operating a motor vehicle while your license is suspended, you could face criminal charges and possible jail time.
Schedule a Free Consultation with an Ewing DUI Lawyer
The drunk driving defense lawyers at Kamensky Cohen & Riechelson are prepared to fight for you both in and out of the courtroom. We will do everything possible to ensure that your driving privileges are not suspended or revoked. Call or email us today to discuss your DWI case.