DWI With A Minor Lawrence NJ
DWI with a Minor in a Vehicle is treated similarly to DWI in a School Zone offenses. New Jersey lawmakers have really cracked down on both of these violations because of a public outcry to keep children safe. As a result, you can expect to face severe penalties if you are convicted of any DWI offense that puts a child’s life at risk.
Princeton DUI With A Minor Lawyers
The drunk driving defense attorneys at Kamensky Cohen & Riechelson have been representing clients for more than 40 years. We regularly appear in courts throughout Mercer County, including Hopewell Township, Robbinsville, and Ewing. Our experience in the courtroom is matched by our impeccable credentials: the firm’s litigation team includes a New Jersey “Super Lawyer” and a Certified Trial Attorney. When you hire KCR, you can trust that we will fight tirelessly for your legal rights and do everything possible to achieve a positive outcome to your DWI case.
DWI with a Minor in a Vehicle Statute: N.J.S.A. 39:4-50.15
DWI with a Minor in a Vehicle is governed by N.J.S.A. 39:4-50.15. The law applies if the driver is the parent or guardian of the child. However, NJ prosecutors interpret the law broadly so that “guardian” refers to practically anyone who is temporarily responsible for the care of the child. This can include little league coaches, babysitters, or anyone else tasked with watching the child for a period of time. For the purposes of this offense, New Jersey law defines a “minor” as anyone under the age of 18.
The penalties for a DWI with a Minor violation include:
- Jail: Up to 6 months
- Driver’s License Suspension: 6 months
- Fine: $1,000
- Community Service: Up to 5 days
Keep in mind that these penalties are in addition to any penalties resulting from the underlying DWI charge.
Criminal Charges: Endangering the Welfare of a Child in Mercer County
The charge may be elevated from a DWI offense to a criminal offense if the circumstances are particularly egregious. As set forth by N.J.S.A. 2C:24-4, Endangering the Welfare of a Child is a second degree felony and can result in a sentence of 5–10 years in NJ State Prison, as well as a fine of up to $150,000. There is also a presumption of incarceration for this offense, which means that you will be subject to a minimum sentence of 5 years even if you do not have a prior criminal record. For the purposes of this criminal offense, the statute defines a “child” as anyone under the age of 16.
Contact Princeton DUI with a Minor Lawyers
Kamensky Cohen & Riechelson can help you avoid the most serious consequences of a DWI with a Minor charge. You can call us anytime to go over your case, or you can email us to schedule a free consultation at our offices in Pennington or Trenton, NJ.