Trenton NJ DWI Monetary Penalties Lawyer
With Offices in Pennington, New Jersey
Anyone can make a mistake and be charged with a DWI violation in New Jersey. The legal limit for drivers in New Jersey is .08 percent blood alcohol concentration (BAC). This means that anyone who has a BAC above .08 percent while operating a motor vehicle on a New Jersey roadway can be charged with a DWI offense. A conviction for a DWI offense can result in substantial penalties, which could affect your freedom and your financial condition. That’s why it is imperative for you to speak with an experienced lawyer about your case.
Kamensky Cohen & Riechelson is a well-respected law firm with a tradition of excellence in New Jersey. Our lawyers have more than 40 years of experience defending clients against DWI charges throughout Mercer County, NJ, including Hamilton, Lawrence, and Robbinsville. If you have been accused of a drunk driving violation, call KCR now to discuss your legal options and start your defense.
Monetary Penalties for DWI Offenses in Mercer County, NJ
DWI offenders in New Jersey are subject to significant punishments. The penalties for a DWI conviction in the State of New Jersey include jail time, driver’s license suspension, and fines. Additionally, NJ courts typically impose monetary penalties in drunk driving cases.
The monetary penalties imposed in New Jersey DWI cases include:
- $50 – Victims of Crime Compensation Board (VCCB): N.J.S.A. 2C:43-3.1 requires anyone convicted of operating a motor vehicle while under the influence of alcohol or drugs to be assessed a $50 fee, which is forwarded to the Victims of Crime Compensation Board. The fee is to be collected at the time of sentencing.
- $75 – Safe Neighborhoods Services Fund (SNSF): N.J.S.A. 2C:43-3.2 calls for anyone convicted of a DWI offense to be assessed a $75 fee. All money collected under this statute is forwarded to the New Jersey Department of Treasury, which will deposit the money into the Safe Neighborhoods Services Fund.
- $100 – Drunk Driving Enforcement Fund: As set forth by N.J.S.A. 39:4-50.8, anyone convicted of a DWI violation in New Jersey must pay a surcharge of $100 to the Director of the Division of Motor Vehicles. The director will deposit $95 of the surcharge into a Drunk Driving Enforcement Fund, which is used to establish a statewide drunk driving enforcement program. Additionally, the fund will be used to provide grants to local municipalities for the subsidization of additional law enforcement patrols. The remaining $5 of each surcharge is used to cover administrative expenses.
- $100 – DWI Surcharge: N.J.S.A. 39:4-50(i) calls for the court to assess a $100 surcharge for anyone convicted of a DWI. A total of $50 of each surcharge is payable to the local municipality, while the remaining $50 is payable to the Treasurer of the State of New Jersey for deposit into the New Jersey General Fund.
- $33 – Court Costs: N.J.S.A. 22A:3-4 grants courts the discretion to impose fees for court costs. These fees cannot exceed $33.
- $6 – Additional Fine Assessments: As set forth by N.J.S.A. 39:5-41, anyone convicted of a traffic offense under Title 39 must be assessed an additional $6 fee.
Depending upon the circumstances, the court might allow the defendant to pay court-ordered fines and other monetary penalties in installments. However, you will definitely need to make payment. If you are convicted of a DWI and then fail to pay any court-ordered fines or monetary penalties, you could be placed under arrest.
Contact Hopewell Borough NJ DUI Defense Attorneys
The DUI defense attorneys at Kamensky Cohen & Riechelson are prepared to help you fight your drunk driving charges. Call us today to speak with a member of our DWI litigation team, or fill out the online contact form to schedule a free consultation at our offices in Trenton or Pennington.