Out of State DUI Lawyers Trenton NJ
Do not make the mistake of thinking that New Jersey DWI laws do not apply to you when you are in another state. If you are convicted of drunk driving while on vacation in a neighboring state, you may still face severe penalties when you return to the Garden State.
Hamilton Out of State DWI Defense
The lawyers at Kamensky Cohen & Riechelson have been serving clients charged with drunk driving offenses in Hightstown, Ewing, and everywhere else in Mercer County since 1972. We have a wealth of experience and local contacts, so we are prepared to help you avoid the most serious penalties for your out-of-state DWI charges. Contact KCR now so that we begin preparing your defense.
Out-of-State Drivers Convicted of DWI in New Jersey
A driver from another state who is convicted of DWI in New Jersey may still be subject to penalties when they return to their home state. This is because New Jersey shares information with other states.
NJ Drivers Convicted of DWI in Another State
Any driver who is licensed in New Jersey must abide by NJ traffic laws when driving in another state. An interstate agreement (known as the Driver License Compact) exists between 45 states. This agreement states that drivers licensed in New Jersey must follow NJ driving laws even when they are driving in a different state.
If you are convicted of a DWI in another state, the court in that state will usually notify the NJ Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC) about your conviction. The penalties imposed by the MVC will typically be in accordance with statutory penalties for New Jersey DWI violations set forth in N.J.S.A. 39:4-50. If you had a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) between.08 percent and .10 percent, you face up to 30 days in jail and suspension of your driver’s license for three months; if you had a BAC above .10 percent, you face mandatory suspension of your driver’s license for at least seven months. Additionally, you can expect the MVC to impose surcharges ranging from $3,000 to $4,500, as well as a requirement to attend alcohol education classes at the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC).
Subsequent DWI Offenses in Mercer County
An out-of-state DWI conviction will go on your driving record in New Jersey. This means that if you are later convicted of a subsequent DWI in the Garden State, you will face enhanced penalties based on having a prior offense.
Free Consultation with a Trenton DUI Attorney
An out-of-state DWI violation can be just as serious as a DWI violation within NJ borders. That’s why it is imperative that you contact the experienced DWI attorneys at Kamensky Cohen & Riechelson without delay so that we can begin your defense. We are available by phone 24–7, or you can email us to arrange a meeting at our offices in Trenton or Pennington, NJ.