DWI Penalties in NJ

DWI Penalties Hamilton NJ

If you are convicted of drunk driving in the State of New Jersey, you face possible jail time. In fact, anyone convicted of a second or third offense is subject to a mandatory jail sentence. You will be subject to significant fines and a mandatory suspension of your driver’s license.

Trenton DUI Fines and Penalties

The DWI defense attorneys at Kamensky Cohen & Riechelson represent clients throughout Mercer County, including Hamilton, Ewing, and Lawrence. In fact, we have more than 40 years of experience handling impaired driving cases, which gives us a unique understanding of local courtroom procedure and New Jersey DWI laws. Call KCR today so that one of our skilled attorneys can begin crafting a defense strategy to help you avoid the most serious DWI penalties.

DWI Penalties in Mercer County

The standard blood alcohol concentration (BAC) measurement in the State of New Jersey is .08 percent. Anyone caught operating a motor vehicle with a BAC of .08 or higher is subject to severe penalties. These penalties may be enhanced if the person’s BAC was higher than .10 percent or if they have a prior DWI conviction on their record.

Jail:

  • First Offense w/ BAC .08–.10 percent: Up to 30 days
  • First Offense w/ BAC above .10 percent: Up to 30 days
  • Second Offense: 2–90 days
  • Third Offense: Mandatory sentence of 180 days

License Suspension:

  • First Offense w/ BAC .08–.10 percent: 3 months
  • First Offense w/ BAC above .10 percent: 7 months–1 year
  • Second Offense: 2 years
  • Third Offense: 10 years

Fines and Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC) Surcharges:

  • First Offense w/ BAC .08–.10 percent: $250–$400 fine, $500 in penalties, and MVC surcharges of $1,000/year for 3 years
  • First Offense w/ BAC above .10 percent: $300–$500 fine, $600 in penalties, and MVC surcharges of $1,000/year for 3 years
  • Second Offense: $500–$1,000 fine, $600 in penalties, and MVC surcharges of $1,000/year for 3 years
  • Third Offense: $1,000 fine, $600 in penalties, and MVC surcharges of $1,500/year for 3 years

Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC):

  • First Offense w/ BAC .08–.10 percent: 12–48 hours of IDRC alcohol education classes and treatment
  • First Offense w/ BAC above .10 percent: 12-48 hours of IDRC alcohol education classes and treatment
  • Second Offense: 12–48 hours of IDRC alcohol education classes and treatment
  • Third Offense: 12–48 hours of IDRC alcohol education classes and treatment

Ignition Interlock Device:

  • First Offense w/ BAC .08–.10 percent: Optional installation, at discretion of court
  • First Offense w/ BAC above .10 percent: Mandatory installation for 6 months–1 year if BAC was .15 percent or higher
  • Second Offense: Mandatory installation for 1–3 years
  • Third Offense: Mandatory installation for 1–3 years

Additional DWI Charges and Enhanced Penalties

The penalties for a DWI offense may be enhanced in certain circumstances:

  • Refusal: The driver refused to take a breath test when requested by a police officer
  • Underage DWI: The driver was under the age of 21
  • DWI with a Child: A child was present in the car at the time of the offense
  • Commercial DWI: The driver was operating a commercial vehicle or truck
  • DWI Accident: The driver caused an accident resulting in injury or property damage

Free Consultation with Pennington DUI Lawyers

Kamensky Cohen & Riechelson can help you avoid the most severe DWI penalties. Call or email today to schedule a free consultation with one of our experienced DWI lawyers. We are available 24–7 to discuss your case over the phone or in-person at our offices in Trenton and Pennington.

Contact Kamensky Cohen & Riechelson

The experienced lawyers you can trust. We focus on success and get results. That’s why we’ve been trusted by clients for over 40 years.

Let us help you navigate your legal challenges.
Call (609) 528-2596 or (215) 337-4915 or send us an email. We're here when you need us.