Princeton Third Offense DWI Lawyer Trenton
If you are convicted of third offense DWI in New Jersey, you will be looking at mandatory jail time and suspension of your driver’s license for 10 years. Additionally, while your license is suspended, you will not be allowed to operate a motor vehicle in the State of New Jersey for any reason – not even to drive to work. That’s because New Jersey does not offer hardship licenses. Imagine not being able to drive to work for the next 10 years.
East Windsor NJ DUI Defense Attorneys
Kamensky Cohen & Riechelson is a local firm with a track record of success and more than 40 years of experience serving clients in Mercer County, including East Windsor, Robbinsville, and Hamilton. We believe that every client deserves a strong defense, which is why we will do what is needed to win your DWI case. Call KCR today to speak with a member of our DWI defense team about your third offense DWI charges.
Third Offense DWI Statute: N.J.S.A. 39:4-50
The legal limit for most drivers in the State of New Jersey is .08 percent blood alcohol concentration (BAC). As set forth by N.J.S.A. 39:4-50, anyone who is caught driving with a BAC of .08 percent or higher can be charged with drunk driving. The penalties for DWI convictions are always severe, but they are particularly severe for third-time offenders.
Mercer County Third Offense DWI Penalties
The penalties for a third DWI offense in a 10-year period include:
- Jail: 180 days
- Driver’s License Suspension: 10 years
- Fine: $1,000
- Other Monetary Penalties: More than $600
- Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC) Surcharges: $1,500 per year for 3 years
- Alcohol Education: 12–48 hours of alcohol education classes and treatment at the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC)
- Community Service: 90 days
- Ignition Interlock Device: Must be installed on all motor vehicles for 1–3 years
Failure to fulfill any of the requirements of your sentence will result in additional penalties. For example, if you fail to install an ignition interlock device on any vehicle that you drive, your period of driver’s license suspension can be extended by one year. Additionally, if you are caught tampering with the ignition interlock device, you will be charged with a disorderly persons offense and face up to six months in jail.
Additional Charge: Driving While Suspended
If you are caught driving while your license is suspended, you will be charged with Driving While Suspended. NJ prosecutors often bring felony-level charges against offenders whose license was suspended due to a DWI, which means that you may be sentenced to six months in state prison if you are convicted.
Insurance Rates: Collateral Consequence of NJ DWI Conviction
Your insurance rates are likely to go through the roof if you are convicted of a third DWI offense. It’s even possible that your insurance will be cancelled.
Contact a Pennington DUI Attorney
The experienced DWI attorneys at Kamensky Cohen & Riechelson are prepared to fight your drunk driving charges and keep your driving privileges intact. Do not risk losing your license for the next 10 years. Call or email us today to visit our Trenton or Pennington office. One of our attorneys will be happy to sit down with you and help you determine the best strategy for your case.