Alcohol Highway Safety School (AHSS) in Pennsylvania
Everyone knows that a DUI conviction in Pennsylvania carries severe penalties, including loss of driving privileges and possible jail time. However, not everyone realizes that a DUI conviction will also result in mandatory alcohol education. Attendance at an Alcohol Highway Safety School (AHSS) is mandatory for anyone convicted of first offense DUI or second offense DUI in Pennsylvania. AHSS is intended to cause DUI offenders to think twice about drinking and driving in the future.
Bucks County DWI Defense Attorney
Kamensky Cohen & Riechelson is a highly respected law firm with more than 40 years of experience in Pennsylvania. We represent clients charged with DUI offenses in Bucks County, including Yardley, Telford, and Bensalem. Our team of skilled attorneys will fight tirelessly to protect your legal rights and ensure that you avoid the most serious penalties for a drunk driving conviction. Call KCR now to discuss your case and begin your defense immediately.
What is Alcohol Highway Safety School?
The Alcohol Highway Safety Program in Pennsylvania was created in 1977. Each county in Pennsylvania has an Alcohol Highway Safety School (AHSS). Program instructors are certified through the Pennsylvania DUI Association, which is part of the Pennsylvania Department of Transportation (PennDOT).
AHSS is a structured educational program with several goals:
- Teach DUI offenders about the dangers and risks posed by drinking and driving
- Educate students about the effects of alcohol on the family
- Provide students with a basic understanding of the effects that alcohol and drugs can have on a person’s body, as well as the adverse effects of alcoholism and drug addiction on a person’s judgment
- Discourage alcohol abuse by providing students with information about health risks and alternatives to coping with addiction
- Provide students with information about alcohol and substance abuse counseling
Pennsylvania AHSS Requirements
Repeat DUI offenders must satisfy all AHSS requirements as part of their sentencing. Attendance at AHSS is also mandatory for any person who is admitted into a diversionary program or Accelerated Rehabilitative Disposition (ARD) for a DUI offense
Once you register for AHSS, you will have just 30 days to complete the requirements of the program. AHSS classes will typically total 12.5 hours. Failure to attend mandatory AHSS classes will result in the program administrators reporting you to the court and your probation officer. It might be possible to take AHSS classes online; however, you will need to receive permission from the court or probation department prior to registering. Keep in mind that you will not be able to get your unrestricted driver’s license reinstated until you successfully complete the AHSS program.
Speak with a Bristol PA DWI Lawyer
The lawyers at Kamensky Cohen & Riechelson understand that this is an extremely important moment in your life. That’s why we are dedicated to providing legal representation of the highest quality. Call us today to discuss your DUI charges, or fill out the online contact form to schedule a free consultation at our office in Bensalem, PA.