Driving While Suspended due to a DUI in PA

Levittown Driving With a DUI License Suspension Lawyer

DUI convictions in Pennsylvania carry a mandatory driver’s license suspension for 1 year. If a person whose license was suspended due to a DUI continues to drive on that suspended license, they are taking a big risk. Anyone caught driving on a Pennsylvania highway or trafficway after their license has been suspended for drunk driving is subject to severe penalties.

Falls Township DWI Defense Attorneys

Kamensky Cohen & Riechelson is a highly respected law firm with more than 40 years of experience handling drunk driving cases throughout Bucks County, including New Britain, Dublin, and Penndel. Our DUI litigation team includes lawyers who appear in local courtrooms on a daily basis, which gives us an edge when it comes to negotiating plea bargains and persuading the prosecutor to drop charges of Driving While Suspended for a DUI. Call KCR today to discuss you case and explore possible defense strategies.

Operating a Motor Vehicle in PA without a Valid License

Keep in mind that a driver is not necessarily allowed to operate a motor vehicle in Pennsylvania simply because the period of license suspension has ended. The driver still must apply to the Pennsylvania Department of Transportation (PennDOT) to get their license restored. If a person operates a motor vehicle before their operating privilege has been restored, they can be charged with Driving While Suspended.

Additionally, the law makes no distinction between suspension for a DUI or suspension for Refusal. As such, you will face the same penalties if your license was originally suspended for refusing to take a breath test.

Penalties for Driving While Suspended in Bucks County PA

The standard penalties for Driving Under Suspension include an extended license suspension of 1 year and a fine of $200. However, the penalties for Driving While Suspended due to a DUI are more severe.

First Offense:

  • Jail: 60–90 days
  • License Suspension: 1 additional year
  • Fine: $500

Second Offense:

  • Jail: At least 6 months
  • License Suspension: 1 additional year
  • Fine: $2,500

Third Offense:

  • Jail: At least 2 years
  • License Suspension: 1 additional year
  • Fine: $5,000

Additionally, the penalties for a first offense are enhanced if the offender had a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) above .02 percent while driving on a suspended license or if the offender had any drugs in their system while driving on a suspended license. In those instances, the minimum penalties for Driving While Suspended include 90 days in jail and a fine of $1,000.

Challenge a Driving While Suspended Charge: No Notice of Suspension

PennDOT must notify you that your license has been suspended. If you did not have actual notice of the suspension and could not reasonably have gotten actual notice of the suspension, you might have a viable defense against the charges.

Contact a Levittown DWI Defense Attorney

The attorneys at Kamensky Cohen & Riechelson are committed to serving the best interests of clients. That’s why we will fight tirelessly for your legal rights and do everything possible to ensure that you don’t face additional penalties for Driving While Suspended due to a DUI. Call us now to discuss your charges, or fill out the online contact form to schedule a free consultation at our Bensalem office.

Contact Kamensky Cohen & Riechelson

The experienced lawyers you can trust. We focus on success and get results. That’s why we’ve been trusted by clients for over 40 years.

Let us help you navigate your legal challenges.
Call (609) 528-2596 or (215) 337-4915 or send us an email. We're here when you need us.