DUI Accidents in PA

Bensalem DUI Accident Lawyer

DUI charges in Pennsylvania demand to be taken seriously because the consequences can be significant. Just a few beers could be enough to push your over the legal limit and result in an arrest. Moreover, it won’t matter how far over the legal limit you were at the time if you are involved in a DUI accident. Pennsylvania DUI law imposes severe DUI penalties in these situations because PA lawmakers and judges are committed to protecting the public against injury.

Falls Township DWI Defense Attorneys

Kamensky Cohen & Riechelson has more than 40 years of experience handling DUI accident cases in Bristol Township, Morrisville, and everywhere else in Bucks County, PA. We are committed to serving the best interests of clients because we understand that this is probably the most important event in your life right now. Call KCR today to speak with one of our experienced drunk driving defense lawyers and get answers to any questions you might have about your case.

Penalties for DUI Accidents in Bucks County, PA

The penalties for a DUI violation are enhanced when the driver operates the vehicle with a high rate of alcohol and is involved in an accident that causes bodily injury or property damage.

First Offense:

Second Offense:

  • Jail: 1–6 months
  • License Suspension: 1 year
  • Fine: $750–$5,000
  • Community Service: 150 hours
  • Alcohol and Drug Treatment: Enrollment in treatment program if recommended by evaluators
  • Alcohol Highway Safety School (AHSS): Mandatory enrollment in AHSS alcohol education classes
  • Ignition Interlock Device: Mandatory installation of ignition interlock devices on all motor vehicles for 1 year

Third Offense:

  • Jail: 3 months–5 years
  • License Suspension: 18 months
  • Fine: $1,500–$10,000
  • Community Service: 150 hours
  • Alcohol and Drug Treatment: Enrollment in treatment program if recommended by evaluators
  • Ignition Interlock Device: Mandatory installation of ignition interlock devices on all motor vehicles for 1 year

Fourth Offense:

  • Jail: 1–5 years
  • License Suspension: 18 months
  • Fine: $1,500–$10,000
  • Community Service: 150 hours
  • Alcohol and Drug Treatment: Enrollment in treatment program if recommended by evaluators
  • Ignition Interlock Device: Mandatory installation of ignition interlock devices on all motor vehicles for 1 year

Restitution to Victims of DUI Accidents

Regardless of the number of prior offenses involved, court may also order you to pay restitution to any person injured as a result of your DUI accident.

DUI Victim Impact Panels in Bucks County, PA

The court also has discretion to order an offender to attend a victim impact panel program. This is a forum for DUI crash victims and family members to speak to offenders about the impact of the crash on their lives.

Criminal Charges for Bensalem PA DUI Accidents

You can also be charged with other criminal offenses stemming from the DUI accident. For instance, if the other person is seriously injured, you could face aggravated assault charges. If another person dies as a result of your DUI accident, you may be charged with vehicular homicide.

Speak with a Fallsington DWI Accident Attorney

If you or a loved one has been charged with drunk driving as a result of a DUI accident in Pennsylvania, the experienced attorneys at Kamensky Cohen & Riechelson can help you. Call us today to discuss your DUI accident case over the phone, or email us to schedule a free consultation at our Bensalem office.

Contact Kamensky Cohen & Riechelson

The experienced lawyers you can trust. We focus on success and get results. That’s why we’ve been trusted by clients for over 40 years.

Let us help you navigate your legal challenges.
Call (609) 528-2596 or (215) 337-4915 or send us an email. We're here when you need us.