First Offense DUI in PA

Bensalem First Offense DUI Lawyer

Do not make the mistake of thinking that a DUI charge is no big deal. You need to take your DUI charge seriously because it is a criminal offense in Pennsylvania. The good news is that Pennsylvania law generally focuses on treatment, as opposed to punishment, for first-time DUI offenders. However, you can still face severe penalties if you are convicted of a first offense DUI.

Levittown DUI Defense

Kamensky Cohen & Riechelson is a highly respected law firm with a rich tradition in Pennsylvania. Our lawyers have more than 40 years of experience handling DUI cases in Bucks County, PA, including Bristol, Newtown, and Springfield. Our familiarity with local courtroom procedure and personnel gives us a major advantage when we represent you because we possess specialized institutional knowledge. Call KCR today to begin your defense.

DUI Violations in Bucks County, PA

The legal limit in Pennsylvania is .08 percent blood alcohol concentration (BAC). However, underage drivers and commercial vehicle operators are held to a higher standard and can therefore be charged with drunk driving even if they have a lower BAC.

First Offense DUI Penalties in Bucks County

The penalties for a first offense DUI violation vary, depending upon the offender’s BAC. Pennsylvania DUI law punishes offenders who fall into one of three categories:

General Impairment: .08–.099 percent BAC:

High BAC: .10–.159 percent BAC:

  • Jail: 2–6 days
  • License Suspension: 1 year
  • Fine: $500–$5,000
  • Community Service: 150 hours
  • Alcohol and Drug Treatment: Enrollment in treatment program if recommended by evaluators
  • Alcohol Highway Safety School (AHSS): Mandatory enrollment in alcohol education classes

Highest BAC: .16 percent BAC or Higher:

  • Jail: 3 days–6 months
  • License Suspension: 1 year
  • Fine: $1,000–$5,000
  • Community Service: 150 hours
  • Alcohol and Drug Treatment: Enrollment in treatment program if recommended by evaluators
  • Alcohol Highway Safety School (AHSS): Mandatory enrollment in alcohol education classes

Prison Time for Subsequent DUI Offenses

Anyone convicted of first offense DUI will be subject to enhanced penalties for later DUI convictions. For example, under certain circumstances, a second DUI offense within 10 years of the first offense may result in a sentence of 5 years in state prison.

Work Licenses for First-Time DUI Offenders

First-time offenders may be eligible for an Occupational Limited License (OLL) after the first 2 months of their license suspension. An OLL allows the offender to drive to and from work, school, and medical appointments.

Free Consultation with Levittown First Offense DWI Attorneys

Kamensky Cohen & Riechelson is prepared to do whatever it takes to win your first offense DUI case and help you avoid the most significant penalties. Call us today to discuss your charges, or email us to schedule a meeting at our office in Bensalem, PA.

Contact Kamensky Cohen & Riechelson

The experienced lawyers you can trust. We focus on success and get results. That’s why we’ve been trusted by clients for over 40 years.

Let us help you navigate your legal challenges.
Call (609) 528-2596 or (215) 337-4915 or send us an email. We're here when you need us.