Second Offense DUI in PA

Fallsington Second Offense DUI Attorney

You need to look into fighting your DUI charges because the penalties for a conviction can be severe. This is especially true if you have been charged with a second offense DUI because Pennsylvania judges will not hesitate to impose maximum sentences on repeat DUI offenders.

Morrisville DWI Defense Law Firm

Kamensky Cohen & Riechelson is a well-respected law firm with a proven track record of success in DUI cases. Our experienced attorneys regularly appear in courtrooms throughout Bucks County, PA, including Morrisville, Yardley, and Dublin. We will fight tirelessly for your legal rights because we believe that each and every client is entitled to the best possible defense. Call KCR now to speak a member of our litigation team about your second offense DUI charges.

Pennsylvania Second Offense DUI Law

Pennsylvania drivers cannot be behind the wheel of a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08 percent or higher. Additionally, you can be charged with second offense DUI if your first offense occurred within the previous 10 years; if your previous DUI offense occurred more than 10 years ago, then it should not count against you in the current case.

Second Offense DUI Penalties in Bucks County, PA

There are three tiers of DUI classifications for second offense DUI offenders. These tiers are based upon the driver’s precise BAC.

General Impairment: .08–.099 percent BAC:

High BAC: .10–.159 percent BAC:

  • Jail: 1–6 months
  • License Suspension: 1 year
  • Fine: $750–$5,000
  • Community Service: 150 hours
  • Alcohol and Drug Treatment: Enrollment in treatment program if recommended by evaluators
  • Alcohol Highway Safety School (AHSS): Mandatory enrollment in alcohol education classes
  • Ignition Interlock Device: Mandatory installation of ignition interlock devices on all motor vehicles for 1 year

Highest BAC: .16 percent BAC or Higher:

  • Jail: 3 months–5 years
  • License Suspension: 18 months
  • Fine: $1,500–$10,000
  • Community Service: 150 hours
  • Alcohol and Drug Treatment: Enrollment in treatment program if recommended by evaluators
  • Alcohol Highway Safety School (AHSS): Mandatory enrollment in alcohol education classes
  • Ignition Interlock Device: Mandatory installation of ignition interlock devices on all motor vehicles for 1 year

Work Licenses for Second Offense DUI

A person convicted of second offense DUI might be eligible for an Occupational Limited License (OLL) after serving the first 12 months of their license suspension. However, they will need to apply for the OLL and agree to install ignition interlock devices on their vehicles.

Meet with Morrisville DWI Lawyers

The drunk driving defense lawyers at Kamensky Cohen & Riechelson know what is needed to win your second offense DUI case because we possess a deep understanding of Pennsylvania DUI law. We are also committed to providing each and every client with the personalized attention they deserve. Call us today to discuss your DUI charges, or fill out the online contact form to schedule a free consultation at our Bensalem office.

Contact Kamensky Cohen & Riechelson

The experienced lawyers you can trust. We focus on success and get results. That’s why we’ve been trusted by clients for over 40 years.

Let us help you navigate your legal challenges.
Call (609) 528-2596 or (215) 337-4915 or send us an email. We're here when you need us.