Third Offense DUI in PA

Warrington PA Third Offense DUI Lawyer

It is always stressful to be facing DUI charges because the penalties are so significant. If you are convicted of a third offense DUI in Pennsylvania, you will likely be looking at a minimum mandatory jail sentence, as well as loss of your driving privileges for a very long time. That’s why it is crucial that you have a strong legal advocate in your corner.

Yardley DWI Defense Attorneys

The lawyers at Kamensky Cohen & Riechelson have more than 40 years of experience in Pennsylvania courtrooms. During this time, we have had great success with DUI cases in Bedminster, Langhorne, and everywhere else in Bucks County, PA. We obviously know how to get the job done at trial, but we are also strong negotiators who understand that hard work and preparation often lead to victories outside the courtroom. In fact, our commitment to excellence begins long before trial. That’s why our litigators work hard to resolve our clients’ DUI cases at the negotiating table. If you have been charged with a third offense DUI in Pennsylvania, contact KCR today to begin your defense.

Pennsylvania Third Offense DUI Violations

The legal limit for most drivers in Pennsylvania is .08 percent blood alcohol concentration (BAC). Although many first- and second-time offenders are able to receive leniency when it comes to sentencing, habitual offenders are subject to more severe DUI penalties.

Third Offense DUI Penalties in Bucks County

The penalties for a third offense DUI are based upon the driver’s BAC. More intoxicated drivers are subject to more severe penalties.

General Impairment: .08–.099 percent BAC:

High BAC: .10–.159 percent BAC:

  • Jail: 3 months–5 years
  • License Suspension: 18 months
  • Fine: $1,500–$10,000
  • Community Service: 150 hours
  • Alcohol and Drug Treatment: Enrollment in treatment program if recommended by evaluators
  • Ignition Interlock Device: Mandatory installation of ignition interlock devices on all motor vehicles for 1 year

Highest BAC: .16 percent BAC or Higher:

  • Jail: 1–5 years
  • License Suspension: 18 months
  • Fine: $1,500–$10,000
  • Community Service: 150 hours
  • Alcohol and Drug Treatment: Enrollment in treatment program if recommended by evaluators
  • Ignition Interlock Device: Mandatory installation of ignition interlock devices on all motor vehicles for 1 year

Ignition Interlock Device Requirement for Third Offense DUI

The ignition interlock device requirement is not optional for repeat offenders. This means that you will have to install the devices on all motor vehicles that you anticipate driving. If you fail to do this and are caught driving, you could face additional penalties that include extended suspension of your license.

Higher Insurance Rates for Repeat DUI Offenders

A conviction for third offense DUI will almost certainly result in your insurance rates being doubled or even tripled. The truth is that higher rates are actually your best-case scenario; in all likelihood, your insurance policy will be cancelled entirely.

Contact a Bensalem DWI Defense Attorney

Kamensky Cohen & Riechelson offers free consultations because we are passionate about protecting the legal rights of criminal defendants and we believe that everyone should be well-informed about their charges. Call us today to discuss your third offense DUI case over the phone, or email us to arrange a meeting at our office in Bensalem, PA.

Contact Kamensky Cohen & Riechelson

The experienced lawyers you can trust. We focus on success and get results. That’s why we’ve been trusted by clients for over 40 years.

Let us help you navigate your legal challenges.
Call (609) 528-2596 or (215) 337-4915 or send us an email. We're here when you need us.