Underage DUI in PA

Warrington PA Underage DUI Attorneys

DUI charges in Pennsylvania always need to be taken seriously because the penalties are significant. Adult offenders are obviously subject to the most severe penalties, while Underage DUI offenders are punished on a different scale. However, a driver who is between the ages of 18 and 21 is still subject to harsh penalties. In fact, if a young driver is convicted of drunk driving in Pennsylvania, they can be sentenced to jail. In certain circumstances, an underage driver can be charged as an adult and face even greater punishments.

Levittown Juvenile DWI Defense

Kamensky Cohen & Riechelson is a highly respected criminal defense firm with more than 40 years of experience handling DUI cases in Tullytown, Silverdale, and everywhere else in Bucks County. We understand that a drunk driving conviction can permanently tarnish a young person’s record, so we do everything possible to win these cases. Our lawyers thoroughly prepare every case for trial; as a result, opposing attorneys are more likely to negotiate favorable settlements with us. If your child has been charged with Underage DUI, contact KCR today.

Underage DUI Law in Bucks County, PA

Since there is a perception among PA legislators and law enforcement that young drivers are more likely to be involved in dangerous accidents while driving, Pennsylvania law holds young drivers to a higher standard when it comes to DUIs. The legal limit for anyone under the age of 21 in Pennsylvania is .02 percent blood alcohol concentration (BAC). This is significantly lower than the BAC for adult drivers, which is .08 percent.

Additionally, underage drivers can still be charged with standard DUI and face the same penalties as adult offenders if their BAC is extremely high or if they are involved in a DUI accident.

Underage DUI Penalties

The penalties for Underage DUI vary, depending upon the number of prior offenses and the exact age of the offender. Anyone between the ages of 18 and 21 is subject to penalties in accordance with Pennsylvania law and determined by the number of prior offenses:

First Offense:

Second Offense:

  • Jail: 1–6 months
  • License Suspension: 1 year
  • Fine: $750–$5,000
  • Community Service: 150 hours
  • Alcohol and Drug Treatment: Enrollment in treatment program if recommended by evaluators
  • Alcohol Highway Safety School (AHSS): Mandatory enrollment in alcohol education classes

Third Offense:

  • Jail: 3 months–5 years
  • License Suspension: 18 months
  • Fine: $1,500–$10,000
  • Community Service: 150 hours
  • Alcohol and Drug Treatment: Enrollment in treatment program if recommended by evaluators

DUI Offenses by Minors Under the Age of 18

If the driver is under the age 18, they will be punished in accordance with the Pennsylvania Juvenile Act. The statute calls for mandatory license suspension for 6 months. Additionally, depending upon the circumstances, the child may be placed on probation or even committed to an institution.

Collateral Consequences of an Underage DUI Conviction

An Underage DUI conviction can also have significant consequences. You may lose educational opportunities if college scholarships are taken away. You might also find it difficult to secure employment in the future because employers will see your DUI conviction on a background check.

Higher Insurance Rates for Underage DUI Offenders

A young driver is likely to have a high car insurance premium as it is. If they are convicted of a DUI, their insurance policy could go through the roof. In the worst cases, their insurance coverage could be cancelled.

Contact a Levittown Underage DWI Lawyer

A member of the DUI litigation team at Kamensky Cohen & Riechelson will be happy to look over your file and answer any questions you might have about your Underage DUI charges. Call or email us to schedule a free consultation at our office in Bensalem, PA.

Contact Kamensky Cohen & Riechelson

The experienced lawyers you can trust. We focus on success and get results. That’s why we’ve been trusted by clients for over 40 years.

Let us help you navigate your legal challenges.
Call (609) 528-2596 or (215) 337-4915 or send us an email. We're here when you need us.