Trenton NJ Murder Defense Attorney
Law Firm with Offices in Pennington, New Jersey
The most serious type of homicide in New Jersey is first degree murder. Although the State of New Jersey no longer imposes the death penalty in murder cases, a murder conviction still carries the most severe penalties in the Criminal Code. If you are convicted of murder in New Jersey, you could end up spending the rest of your life doing hard time in a maximum security prison. That’s why it is imperative that you contact an attorney immediately.
Kamensky Cohen & Riechelson is a highly regarded law firm that has been serving clients in New Jersey since 1972. During that time, we have successfully defended clients against violent crime charges throughout Mercer County, NJ, including West Windsor, Hopewell, and Hightstown. Call KCR now to discuss your first degree murder case and begin your defense immediately.
N.J.S.A. 2C:11-3: Murder Charges in Mercer County New Jersey
Murder charges in the State of New Jersey are governed by N.J.S.A. 2C:11-3. The statute sets forth a few different scenarios in which a person can be charged with murder. Of course, a person who purposely causes death, or who purposely causes serious bodily injury which later results in death, can be charged with first degree murder.
The NJ homicide law was drafted in such a way that a person can be charged with first degree murder even if they did not purposely or knowingly cause a death. This kind of homicide is known as “felony murder.” A person can be charged with felony murder if they cause the death of someone else while committing a violent crime such as robbery, burglary, kidnapping, carjacking, and sexual assault. Moreover, the felony murder law is interpreted broadly so that a person can be charged with felony murder even if they did not directly cause the death. For example, a person committing armed robbery may be held criminally responsible for the death of someone who has a heart attack at the scene of the crime.
Penalties for Murder in Princeton NJ
Although most first degree felonies in New Jersey carry sentencing ranges of 10–20 years in New Jersey State Prison, first degree murder is treated differently because lawmakers recognized the important of deterring homicides. As a result, a first degree murder conviction carries the most severe penalties in the New Jersey Criminal Code. Anyone who is convicted of first degree murder is subject to a sentence of at least 30 years in New Jersey State Prison, with no possibility of parole prior to serving the 30-year term. Beyond that, the judge has discretion to impose a life sentence on the offender.
In certain circumstances, the judge is required to impose a life sentence on the offender. If you are convicted of murdering a police officer, you will be subject to incarceration in New Jersey State Prison for the rest of your life. The same is true if you are convicted of murder a child under the age of 14 while committing sexual assault; you will also be subject to incarceration in state prison for the remainder of your life.
Call a Lawrence NJ First Degree Murder Attorney
The criminal defense lawyers at Kamensky Cohen & Riechelson understand that your freedom is at stake. That’s why we will do whatever it takes to help you beat a murder charge. Call us anytime to speak with a member of our litigation team, or fill out the online contact form to schedule a free consultation at our Trenton or Pennington offices.