Hamilton NJ Robbery Lawyers
With Offices in Trenton and Pennington
Robbery is one of the most common theft offenses in the State of New Jersey. That’s because all that is required for a robbery charge is the forceful taking of someone else’s property. If you brush up against another person while committing a theft, you can be charged with robbery. It is even possible for a lesser offense, like shoplifting, to be upgraded to a more serious robbery charge. For example, a shoplifter who pushes a store employee or security guard while trying to flee the store can be charged with second degree robbery. Additionally, since robbery is considered a violent crime, NJ prosecutors will not shy away from pursuing the maximum penalties in robbery cases.
Kamensky Cohen & Riechelson is a highly respected law firm with more than 40 years of experience in New Jersey and Pennsylvania. Our criminal defense lawyers have successfully defended clients against robbery charges throughout Mercer County, including West Windsor, Hopewell, and Princeton. Additionally, our litigation team includes a New Jersey Certified Trial Attorney and a New Jersey “Super Lawyer,” so we definitely know what it takes to win a case in the courtroom. Call KCR today to speak with one of our highly skilled litigators and begin your defense.
Robbery Charges in Mercer County
Robbery in New Jersey is governed by N.J.S.A. 2C:15-1. The statute sets forth three scenarios for a robbery charge. A person may be charged with robbery if, during the course of committing a theft, they:
- Inflict bodily injury or use force upon another person.
- Threaten another person with immediate bodily injury or put another person in fear of immediate bodily injury.
- Commit or threaten to immediately commit a first degree crime or a second degree crime.
Robbery is ordinarily classified as a second degree felony. However, in certain instances, a robbery charge may be elevated to a first degree felony. If the offender causes serious bodily injury, attempts to kill another person, or uses or threatens to use a deadly weapon during the commission of a theft, they may be charged with first degree robbery.
“Serious bodily injury” means that the injury creates a substantial risk of death or causes permanent disfigurement, impairment, or loss of the function of a body part or organ. Additionally, since the use of a deadly weapon can also lead to enhanced charges and more severe penalties, it is also important to understand that just about anything can be considered a “weapon” under New Jersey law.
Penalties for Robbery in Pennington NJ
Anyone who uses force or the threat of force to commit a theft can be charged with second degree robbery. If you are convicted of second degree robbery, you may be sentenced to 5–10 years in New Jersey State Prison. If the robbery charge is elevated to a first degree felony, the offender may be sentenced to 10–20 years in New Jersey State Prison.
There is a presumption of incarceration for robbery convictions – even for first-time offenders. This means that a person who is convicted of robbery in the State of New Jersey will almost certainly be looking at prison time. Moreover, robbery is one of the enumerated offenses in the No Early Release Act (NERA). The NERA calls for defendants convicted of certain violent crimes to serve a minimum of 85 percent of any prison sentence before becoming eligible for parole.
Free Consultation with Trenton NJ Robbery Attorneys
The criminal defense attorneys at Kamensky Cohen & Riechelson are prepared to fight your robbery charges and help you stay out of prison. Call us today to discuss your case over the phone, or email us to schedule a free consultation at our offices in Trenton or Pennington.