Lawrence NJ Careless Driving Attorney
With Offices in Trenton and Pennington, New Jersey
Drivers on New Jersey roadways must exercise caution and obey traffic laws at all times. Anyone who drives without due caution can be charged with careless driving. This is kind of a catch-all charge that is issued by NJ police anytime a driver is at fault in a car accident. The truth is that just about anything can be considered “careless driving.” Moreover, with motor vehicle accidents on the rise, NJ law enforcement won’t hesitate to ticket drivers for careless driving.
Kamensky Cohen & Riechelson is a highly respected law firm with a rich tradition in New Jersey. Our attorneys have more than 40 years of experience handling traffic matters throughout Mercer County, NJ, including Princeton, Hopewell Borough, and Pennington. We are committed to fighting traffic tickets and providing our clients with the best possible outcome. Call KCR now to discuss your case and determine the next step.
Careless Driving Violations in New Jersey
Careless driving violations in New Jersey are governed by N.J.S.A. 39:4-97. The law prohibits anyone from operating a motor vehicle without due caution or circumspection and in a manner that endangers other people or property.
Careless driving is very similar to reckless driving. Reckless driving is a more serious offense because it applies when a driver intentionally drives in a dangerous manner. If you have been charged with reckless driving, it might be possible to get the charge downgraded to careless driving.
Penalties for Careless Driving in Mercer County NJ
The penalties for a careless driving violation can be severe. If you are convicted, you could be looking at heavy fines and court costs, increased insurance premiums due to points on your license, suspension of your driver’s license, and even jail time.
You can be fined $50–$200 for a careless driving violation. The fines may be doubled if the offense occurred in a Safe Corridor or Construction Zone. The fines may also be doubled if the violation occurred on a road with a speed limit of 65 mph. You will also be responsible for court costs if you are convicted or plead guilty.
You will also accrue 2 points on your license if you are convicted of careless driving. If you get too many points on your license, your insurance rates may increase. Your insurance company might even cancel your policy if they consider you an “accident risk.” That’s why it’s crucial for your attorney to do everything possible to get your charge downgraded to a no-point violation.
If there are aggravating circumstances, the judge has discretion to suspend your license for up to 3 months.
In extreme cases, you can be sentenced to up to 15 days in jail for careless driving because judges have a great deal of discretion in traffic cases.
Contact West Windsor NJ Careless Driving Lawyers
The lawyers at Kamensky Cohen & Riechelson are not afraid to challenge the evidence in your case. We believe that every client deserves top-notch legal representation, no matter how minor the charge. That’s why we will do everything possible to help you avoid penalties for a careless driving violation. Call us today to speak with a member of our traffic defense team, or email us to schedule a free consultation at our offices in Pennington or Trenton, NJ.