Driving with a Suspended License in NJ

Princeton NJ Driving with a Suspended License Attorneys

With Offices in Trenton and Pennington, New Jersey

Although everyone knows that they are not supposed to drive with a suspended license, sometimes it can be difficult to avoid getting behind the wheel. Perhaps you were faced with an urgent situation that required you to get somewhere quickly. Perhaps you were simply trying to drive to work so that you could earn money for your family. Unfortunately, NJ law enforcement and NJ prosecutors probably won’t be too interested in your reasons. Now you have been charged with one of the most serious traffic offenses in New Jersey and face significant consequences.

Kamensky Cohen & Riechelson is a well-respected law firm with a rich tradition of success in New Jersey. We have handled traffic cases in courtrooms throughout Mercer County, NJ, including Pennington, Princeton, and Ewing. Call KCR today to speak with a member of our litigation team and learn the best strategy for beating your Driving While Suspended charges.

Driving with a Suspended License in New Jersey

Your driver’s license can be suspended for any number of reasons:

  • DWI conviction
  • Driving Without Insurance
  • Reckless Driving
  • Leaving the Scene of an Accident
  • Drug crime conviction
  • Too many points on your license
  • Failure to appear in court
  • Failure to pay MVC surcharges
  • Failure to pay court-imposed fines
  • Failure to pay parking tickets
  • Failure to pay child support

Driving with a Suspended License is governed by N.J.S.A. 39:3-40. Once a person’s license has been suspended or revoked, they cannot drive for any reason in New Jersey. That’s because New Jersey does not offer work or hardship licenses. If your license is suspended, you will not be allowed to operate a motor vehicle on NJ roadways until your license is fully restored.

Penalties for Driving with a Suspended License in Mercer County NJ

The penalties for Driving with a Suspended License are determined by the number of prior offenses:

First Offense:

  • License Suspension: Additional 6 months
  • Fine: $500
  • Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC) Surcharges: $250/year for 3 years

Second Offense:

  • Jail: Up to 5 days
  • License Suspension: Additional 6 months
  • Fine: $750 fine
  • MVC Surcharges: $250/year for 3 years

Third Offense:

  • Jail: 10 days–6 months
  • License Suspension: Additional 6 months
  • Fine: $1,000
  • MVC Surcharges: $250/year for 3 years

Additionally, the penalties for Driving While Suspended are enhanced if your license was suspended for certain reasons, including: DWI; Refusal; DWI in a School Zone; Refusal in a School Zone; and Driving Without Insurance.

License Suspended for DWI or Refusal

If your license was suspended for a DWI offense or a Breath Test Refusal violation, the penalties include: 10 days–3 months in jail; a $1,000 fine; and additional license suspension for 12–30 months. A second offense will result in all of the same penalties and a fine of $1,250, while a third offense will result in the same penalties and a fine of $1,500.

Moreover, if you are convicted of a second offense for Driving While Suspended due to DWI, you can actually be charged with a criminal offense. As set forth by N.J.S.A. 2C:40-26, a conviction will result in a mandatory sentence of 6 months in jail and a fine of up to $10,000.

License Suspended for DWI in a School Zone or Refusal in a School Zone

If your license was suspended for DWI in a School Zone or Refusal in a School Zone, the penalties are determined by the number of prior offenses. A first offense will result in 2–3 months in jail; a second offense will result in 4–5 months in jail; and a third offense will result in 6 months in jail. Additionally, all fines for a standard offense will be increased by $500.

License Suspended for Driving Without Insurance

If your license was suspended due to a Driving Without Insurance violation, the penalties include: up to 3 months in jail; $500 fine on top of the standard fine; and additional license suspension for 1–2 years.

Defenses to Driving While Suspended in Trenton NJ

The prosecution must prove that you had notice of your license suspension. However, you might not have realized that your license was suspended. For example, it’s possible that the MVC mailed notice of your scheduled suspension to an old address. It’s also possible that you were not the owner of the vehicle. If this is the case, you might not have realized that the vehicle was uninsured.

Contact Robbinsville  NJ Driving While Suspended Lawyers

Regardless of the circumstances of your Driving While Suspended charge, the lawyers at Kamensky Cohen & Riechelson can help you win your case. Call us today to discuss your legal options, or email us to schedule a free consultation at our offices in Trenton or Pennington, NJ.

Contact Kamensky Cohen & Riechelson

The experienced lawyers you can trust. We focus on success and get results. That’s why we’ve been trusted by clients for over 40 years.

Let us help you navigate your legal challenges.
Call (609) 528-2596 or (215) 337-4915 or send us an email. We're here when you need us.