Ewing NJ Driving Without Insurance Attorneys
With Offices in Pennington and Trenton, New Jersey
It is very easy to make the mistake of Driving Without Insurance. For example, you might have believed that you were covered under a family member’s policy. It’s also possible that your husband or wife failed to send in a monthly payment – something that you might not have been aware of. Unfortunately, the circumstances might not matter to a prosecutor. That’s because if you operate a vehicle on a New Jersey road and do not have proper insurance, you are violating NJ traffic laws. Worse yet, the penalties for Driving Without Insurance are often more severe than the penalties for Drunk Driving.
The attorneys at Kamensky Cohen & Riechelson have more than 40 years of experience representing clients accused of traffic violations in Robbinsville, West Windsor, and everywhere else in Mercer County. Additionally, our litigation team understands the nuances of New Jersey traffic law and knows exactly what arguments to make on your behalf in a Driving Without Insurance case. Call KCR today to speak with a skilled attorney about your case.
New Jersey Driving Without Insurance Law
Driving Without Insurance is governed by N.J.S.A. 39:6B-2. Anyone who registers or principally garages a motor vehicle in the State of New Jersey is required to carry vehicle liability insurance. This includes certain minimums for insurance coverage: $5,000 per accident for damage to property; $15,000 per accident for bodily injury or death of one person; and $30,000 per accident for bodily injury or death or more than one person.
Additionally, Driving Without Insurance is a strict liability offense. This means that you are in violation of the law simply by virtue of being on the road without insurance. Your intent does not matter because it is presumed by law that you knew or should have known that your car was uninsured. In most circumstances, you will not be able to claim lack of knowledge as a defense to this charge.
Penalties for Driving Without Insurance in Mercer County NJ
The penalties for Driving Without Insurance in the State of New Jersey are determined by the number of prior offenses.
- License Suspension: 1 year
- Fine: $300–$1,000 fine
- Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC) Surcharges: $250 per year for 3 years
- Community Service: At discretion of judge
- Jail: 14 days
- License Suspension: 2 years
- Fine: $500–$5,000 fine
- Community Service: 1 month
If your license is suspended for Driving Without Insurance, you will not automatically get your license back once the period of suspension ends. You will be required to apply for license reinstatement. It is entirely possible that the MVC will determine that you are an at-risk driver and refuse to reinstate your license.
You will also be assessed 9 insurance points if you are convicted of Driving Without Insurance. These points are used by insurance companies to determine your insurance premiums. If and when your license is reinstated, you might find it difficult to obtain insurance coverage because companies will often refuse to insure drivers with too many points.
Driving Without Insurance Accidents: Personal Injury Liability
If you are uninsured and are involved in an accident, you might lose the right to sue for personal injury damages. This means that even if the other driver was at fault, you could be prevented from getting compensation for your injuries.
Call a Ewing NJ Driving Without Insurance Lawyer
Kamensky Cohen & Riechelson is a law firm with lawyers who are dedicated to helping you win your traffic matter and avoid serious penalties. If you have been accused of Driving Without Insurance in New Jersey, call or email us anytime to discuss your case.