Morrisville PA Driving with a Suspended License Lawyer

With Offices in Bensalem, Pennsylvania

Driving with a suspended license is a big risk that can result in significant penalties. PA prosecutors take license suspension very seriously. If a person is not allowed to operate a motor vehicle on Pennsylvania highways or trafficways for any reason, they can get into a lot of trouble for ignoring the law. Do not take this traffic violation lightly. Anyone caught driving with a license that has been suspended or revoked faces significant penalties.

The traffic defense lawyers at Kamensky Cohen & Riechelson have more than 40 years of experience handling traffic cases in Bucks County, PA, including Bridgeton, Yardley, and Penndel. We have a proven track record of success and a litigation team that is dedicated to serving the best interests of clients. If you have been accused of Driving with a Suspended License, call KCR today to begin your defense.

License Suspension in Pennsylvania

A person’s driver’s license can be suspended for a number of reasons:

Regardless of the reason for your license suspension, you must take great care to avoid driving while suspended. That’s because until your license has been officially reinstated, you are not allowed to operate a motor vehicle. Even if the period of your license suspension has ended, you must meet all requirements for license reinstatement before getting back on the road.

Penalties for Driving While Suspended in Bucks County PA

If you are convicted of Driving While Suspended, you may be fined $200 and your license may be suspended for an additional 1 year.

You may be subject to enhanced penalties if your license was suspended due to a DUI. These penalties are determined by the number of prior offenses. For example, a first offense will result in a mandatory jail term of 2–3 months and a $500 fine. These penalties are enhanced even further if the offender had a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .02 percent or greater at the time of the Driving While Suspended offense. In that case, the offender will be subject to a minimum sentence of 3 months in jail, as well as a $1,000 fine.

If your license was revoked as a condition of Accelerated Rehabilitative Disposition (ARD) for a DUI offense or a Refusal offense, then you will be subject to the same enhanced penalties. Additionally, if you were under the influence of alcohol at the time of the violation, you face even stiffer penalties. The exact penalties are determined by the number of prior offenses:

  • First Offense: mandatory jail term of at least 3 months, a $1,000 fine, and additional license suspension for 1–2 years.
  • Second Offense: mandatory jail term of at least 6 months, a $2,500 fine, and additional license suspension for 1–2 years.
  • Third Offense: mandatory jail term of at least 2 years, a $5,000 fine, and additional license suspension for 1–2 years.

Defense to a Driving While Suspended Charge: No Actual Notice of Suspension

It is not always easy for the prosecution to establish that a Driving While Suspended violation occurred. The prosecution must prove that you had actual notice of the suspension. Although the prosecution might present evidence that the Pennsylvania Department of Transportation (PennDOT) mailed notice of your suspension, this alone is not enough to establish that you knew of the suspension. However, if you moved and failed to notify PennDOT, then proof that they mailed notice of your suspension to your old address may be sufficient.

Contact an Ivyland PA Driving While Suspended Attorney

Kamensky Cohen & Riechelson will help you fight your Driving While Suspended charges. We understand how important it is for you to avoid a lengthy license suspension, so we will do everything possible to win your case. Call us today to speak with one of our experienced traffic defense attorneys, or email us to schedule a free consultation at our Bensalem office.