Warwick PA Leaving the Scene of an Accident Lawyer
With Offices in Bensalem, PA
One of the most serious traffic offenses in Pennsylvania is Leaving the Scene of an Accident. Of course, most people know that they are supposed to wait at the scene after a motor vehicle accident. However, it is often the case that a driver is panicked in the moments immediately following an accident. It’s also true that many drivers fail to stop because they do not realize that they have been involved in an accident. Not every auto accident involves a high-speed collision. It’s entirely possible that you merely grazed another vehicle and did not feel the impact. Unfortunately, your lack of awareness might not matter to PA law enforcement; you could still be looking at significant penalties.
Kamensky Cohen & Riechelson is a well-respected law firm with a track record of success in traffic cases. Our lawyers have successfully represented clients in Haycock, Upper Makefield, and everywhere else in Bucks County for more than 40 years. We are familiar with local courtroom procedure and personnel, which gives us an edge in your case because we know how to win at the negotiating table and at trial. Call KCR today to speak with a member of our traffic defense team and start your defense immediately.
Hit-and-Run Accident Law in Pennsylvania
If you are involved in an accident that damages another vehicle, you must exchange information with the other party. It does not matter if your car accident only resulted in minor damage; you must remain at the scene and provide the other party with certain information, including your name, your vehicle registration number, your license plate number, and proof of insurance.
Even if no one else is present when you are involved in an accident, you cannot leave the scene until contacting the owner of the damaged vehicle or making sure that the owner knows how to contact you.
If you are involved in an accident that injures another person, you must stay at the scene until help arrives and the injured party has been treated by medical personnel. In the event that another person is injured, you have a legal duty to render aid and/or call for medical assistance.
Penalties for Leaving the Scene of an Accident in Bucks County PA
The penalties for a hit-and-run accident in Pennsylvania vary, depending upon the kind of accident and severity of damage:
- Property Damage Only – Unattended Vehicle: up to 3 months in jail and a $300 fine
- Property Damage Only – Attended Vehicle: up to 1 year in jail and a $2,500 fine
- Serious Bodily Injury: 3 months–7 years in prison and a $1,000–$15,000 fine
- Death: 3–10 years in prison and a $2,500–$15,000 fine
If you are convicted of Leaving the Scene of an Accident, you will also be subject to suspension of your driver’s license. Moreover, a conviction for Leaving the Scene of an Accident may result in 4 points on your license. If you accumulate too many points, your license can be suspended or revoked.
Defenses Against Leaving the Scene of an Accident Charges in Bristol PA
If you did not realize that you were involved in an accident, it might be possible to contest the charges. At a minimum, lack of knowledge could be used to persuade the prosecutor to downgrade your charges.
Additionally, if no one else was hurt as a result of the accident, your attorney might be able to get the charges downgraded. Keep in mind that the penalties are far more severe when the accident results in injuries to another person.
Contact Bristol PA Hit-and-Run Accident Attorneys
The attorneys at Kamensky Cohen & Riechelson are prepared to assist you with your case. Our top priority will be to make sure that you avoid the most serious consequences of a conviction for Leaving the Scene of an Accident. Call us now to go over the details of your case, or email us to schedule a free consultation at our office in Bensalem, PA.