License Suspension for DUI in PA

DUI License Suspensions

People tend to take their driving privileges for granted. It’s only when a person loses the ability to drive that they realize just how important their license is. One of the most devastating DUI penalties is revocation of your driver’s license. In fact, most DUI convictions in Pennsylvania will result in automatic suspension of your license. However, if you are a first-time offender and were convicted of the lowest-tier DUI, you might be able to avoid license suspension.

Warrington DWI Defense

The drunk driving defense attorneys at Kamensky Cohen & Riechelson have more than 40 years of experience handling DUI cases throughout Bucks County, PA, including Richlandtown, Haycock, and Springfield. Our litigation team excels in the courtroom because we are tenacious advocates for our clients. We are also hardworking and passionate about helping our clients maintain their driving privileges. If you are facing license suspension for a DUI charge in Pennsylvania, KCR can help you.

License Suspension Hearings in Bucks County, PA

Driver’s license suspensions are administered by the Pennsylvania Department of Transportation (PennDOT). The suspension decision will be made at an administrative hearing that is held separately from any criminal proceedings. This means that your license can be suspended prior to your criminal case being decided.

Bucks County DUI Penalties: License Suspension

The length of your license suspension period is determined by the severity of your offense and the number of prior DUI offenses on your record. If your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is particularly high, your license can be suspended for a longer duration.

General Impairment: .08–.099 percent BAC:

High BAC: .10–.159 percent BAC:

  • First Offense: 1 year
  • Second Offense: 1 year
  • Third Offense: 18 months

Highest BAC: .16 percent BAC or Higher:

  • First Offense: 1 year
  • Second Offense: 18 months
  • Third Offense: 18 months

If you are caught driving with a suspended license, not only will your license suspension period likely be extended; you could face additional charges and potential jail time.

Applying for a Work License in Pennsylvania

If you are a first-time offender and your license was suspended, you may be eligible to apply for an Occupational Limited License (OLL) after two months have gone by. An OLL will allow you to drive on a limited basis for specific reasons: to get to and from work, school, and medical appointments.

Free Consultation with a Falls Township DUI Defense Lawyer

Kamensky Cohen & Riechelson is prepared to fight for you and help you avoid the most serious DUI penalties. Do not assume that you can’t challenge your DUI charges and avoid a license suspension. Call us today to speak with a member of our skilled litigation team, or email us to arrange an in-person meeting at our Bensalem office.

Contact Kamensky Cohen & Riechelson

The experienced lawyers you can trust. We focus on success and get results. That’s why we’ve been trusted by clients for over 40 years.

Let us help you navigate your legal challenges.
Call (609) 528-2596 or (215) 337-4915 or send us an email. We're here when you need us.