Trenton NJ Homicide Lawyers
With Offices in Trenton and Pennington, New Jersey
New Jersey homicide law is extremely complicated. When a prosecutor has gone to the trouble of getting an indictment for a homicide charge, you can bet that they believe the case against you is strong. Moreover, regardless of the classification of the homicide charge, the penalties are significant. In many circumstances, a conviction for homicide will result in a minimum sentence of 30 years in state prison. In the worst cases, the offender could be incarcerated for the rest of their life. Given the severity of the consequences and the difficulties involved in defending against a homicide charge, it is critical that you speak with a lawyer as soon as possible.
Kamensky Cohen & Riechelson is a highly respected law firm with a rich tradition in New Jersey. Our criminal defense lawyers have more than 40 years of experience defending clients against violent crime charges in Mercer County, NJ, including Hamilton, Princeton, and East Windsor. Call KCR now to speak with a member of our litigation team and start your defense.
Categories of Homicide in Mercer County NJ
The New Jersey Criminal Code includes three different categories of criminal homicide:
- Murder: This is the most serious form of murder, which typically involves the purposeful killing of another person.
- Manslaughter: This is usually the charge when a person dies as a result of another person’s recklessness.
- Aggravated Manslaughter: This is an elevated charge of manslaughter. It is brought when the offender manifested extreme indifference to human life or caused a death while eluding police.
- Vehicular Homicide (Death by Auto): This is typically the charge when an individual is killed as a result of the negligent operation of a motor vehicle.
Penalties for Homicide in Lawrence NJ
Depending on the classification of the homicide offense in your case, you could end up spending the rest of your life locked behind bars. Of course, murder is the most serious offense in the New Jersey Criminal Code. In recognition of the severity of the crime, New Jersey lawmakers imposed sentencing enhancements for first degree murder convictions. Although most first degree felonies in New Jersey carry a maximum sentence of 20 years in NJ State Prison, murder carries a minimum sentence of 30 years in NJ State Prison. Moreover, a first degree murder conviction could result in a sentence of life in NJ State Prison.
Even lesser homicide offense, such as manslaughter and vehicular homicide, can result in significant penalties. A first degree conviction carries a potential sentence of 10–20 years in NJ State Prison; a conviction for second degree manslaughter will result in a sentence of 5–10 years in NJ State Prison. Additionally, since homicide is codified in the No-Early Release Act (NERA), an offender will be required to serve a minimum of 85 percent of any sentence before becoming eligible for parole.
Contact Hopewell Township NJ Homicide Attorneys
The criminal defense team at Kamensky Cohen & Riechelson is prepared to fight your homicide charges. Call us today to discuss your case with an experienced criminal defense attorney, or email us to schedule a free consultation at our offices in Trenton or Pennington.