Pennington NJ Reckless Driving Lawyers
With Offices in Trenton and Pennington, New Jersey
Drivers are supposed to obey traffic laws and carefully operate their vehicles on NJ roadways. Anyone who drives their vehicle with willful or wanton disregard for the safety of others and in a manner that endangers people or property may be charged with reckless driving. NJ prosecutors take reckless driving charges very seriously because the public has an expectation of safety on New Jersey roads. In many cases like this, the prosecutor will seek jail time for the offender. However, one mistake should not ruin the rest of your life.
The lawyers at Kamensky Cohen & Riechelson have more than 40 years of experience handling reckless driving cases in Mercer County, NJ, including Trenton, Princeton, and Ewing. We understand how important it is for you to maintain your driving privileges. We also recognize that your freedom could be at stake if you are convicted. That’s why our traffic defense team will fight for you in the courtroom and make sure that you avoid the most serious penalties. Call KCR now to discuss your reckless driving charges and begin your defense.
Reckless Driving Violations in New Jersey
Reckless driving in New Jersey is governed by N.J.S.A. 39:4-6. Reckless driving is basically an elevated charge of careless driving. The main distinction between the two violations is that a “reckless driver” is aware that their conduct is placing others at risk; the driver must knowingly or purposefully endanger another person or property.
Reckless Driving Penalties in Mercer County NJ
Reckless driving is a criminal charge. This means that you could end up spending time in jail if you are convicted. In the worst cases, a judge may sentence you to up to 2 months in jail for reckless driving.
The penalties for reckless driving vary, depending upon the severity of the violation and the number of prior offenses.
- Jail: Up to 2 months
- Fine: $50–$200
- License Suspension: Up to 3 months
- Jail: Up to 3 months
- Fine: $100–$500
- License Suspension: Up to 6 months
Points on Your License for Reckless Driving in Mercer County NJ
A conviction for reckless driving will result in 6 points on your driving record. It is important to avoid points on your record because if you get too many points, your insurance rates may increase. In certain instances, your insurance may be cancelled entirely.
Moreover, if you accumulate 12 points on your driving record, your license can be suspended. This happens all the time in cases like this because reckless driving charges are often accompanied by tickets for other traffic violations, including speeding and drunk driving. As a result, the points can add up quickly.
Challenge a Reckless Driving Charge in Trenton NJ
Determinations about whether a driver was “reckless” or “careless” are often extremely subjective. This leaves ample opportunity for an attorney to plea bargain your reckless driving charge to a lesser offense like careless driving or unsafe driving.
Examples of defenses that our attorneys have successfully raised in reckless driving cases include:
- Not knowing or intentional: A requirement for a reckless driving conviction is that the defendant knowingly or intentionally drove in an unsafe manner. If your unsafe driving was merely negligent, we may be able to convince the prosecutor to downgrade your reckless driving charge.
- No one was put at risk by the driver: If you were driving at an excessive speed on a deserted highway road, it might be possible to challenge your reckless driving charge because no one’s safety was endangered.
Free Consultation with Hightstown NJ Reckless Driving Attorneys
Kamensky Cohen & Riechelson has a proven track record of success in reckless driving cases. Call us today to speak with an accomplished traffic attorney, or fill out the online contact form to schedule an appointment at our offices in Trenton or Pennington, NJ.