Wrightstown PA Driving Without Insurance Attorneys
With Offices in Bensalem, Pennsylvania
PA traffic laws require every motor vehicle to have a certain level of liability insurance. Of course, you might have a perfectly valid reason for not having insurance at the time of your traffic stop or auto accident. For instance, you might have been unaware that you insurance had lapsed. Or perhaps you missed a required payment because the bills were getting out of control. Unfortunately, Pennsylvania traffic officers have authority to ticket you regardless of the circumstances; if you fail to provide proof of insurance when requested by a police officer, you will be ticketed for Driving Without Insurance.
Kamensky Cohen & Riechelson is a highly respected law firm with a rich tradition in Pennsylvania. Our traffic ticket attorney represents clients throughout in Bucks County, PA, including West Rockhill, Chalfont, and Dublin. We have a wealth of experience and contacts in local courtrooms. We also know what kinds of arguments to raise and defense strategies to employ in response to a Driving Without Insurance charge.
Pennsylvania Driving Without Insurance Charges
All drivers in Pennsylvania must maintain financial responsibility on currently registered vehicles. This means that you must have a certain amount of liability insurance to cover injuries to others or damage to property in the case of an accident. The minimum auto insurance coverage in Pennsylvania includes:
- $15,000 for injury or death of one person in an accident
- $30,000 for injury or death of multiple people in an accident
- $5,000 for property damage liability
If a traffic officer stops your vehicle, they may request proof of insurance. It is very important that you have your insurance identification card when driving. Failure to provide this ID card when requested by a police officer will result in a charge for Driving Without Insurance.
If you are involved in an auto accident, an accident report will be forwarded to PennDOT. If PennDOT makes a determination that you did not have insurance at the time of the accident, your vehicle registration will be suspended for 3 months.
Penalties for Driving Without Insurance in Bucks County PA
If you are caught driving without liability insurance, the penalties can be significant:
- License Suspension: 3 months
- Vehicle Registration Suspension: 3 months
- Fine: $300
Additionally, when your suspension period ends, you will have to pay a $50 license restoration fee and a $50 vehicle registration restoration fee.
Moreover, if you are involved in an auto accident and your vehicle is uninsured, you might find it difficult to recover damages and compensation in a civil suit. Even if the other driver was at fault in the accident, you could be on the hook for your medical bills.
One of the great ironies of a Driving Without Insurance charge is that a conviction often results in increased insurance premiums. Not only will your license be suspended; you could be required to pay even more for insurance going forward.
Defenses to a Driving Without Insurance Charge in Newtown PA
There are several valid defenses to a Driving Without Insurance charge:
- Lack of Notice: Your insurance company must notify you of cancellation or termination or your insurance policy.
- Lack of Consent: If you did not consent to the cancellation of your policy, you might be able to contest the charge. For example, someone else might have cancelled the policy on your behalf.
- Honest Mistake: You might also be able to argue that you sincerely believed you were covered under a family member’s insurance policy.
Call Upper Makefield PA Driving Without Insurance Lawyers
The lawyers at Kamensky Cohen & Riechelson know how to win your Driving Without Insurance case and help you avoid the most serious consequences of a conviction. Call us now to speak with a member of our litigation team, or fill out the online contact form to schedule a free consultation at our Bensalem office.