Notice for Workers Comp Lawyer Ewing
Law Firm with Offices in Trenton and Pennington, NJ
You do not deserve to be punished for doing your job. That’s why New Jersey workers’ compensation laws exist: to protect injured workers against having to pay for their own medical bills in the event of a job-related injury. Unfortunately, workers’ comp laws are incredibly complex. As a result, it is often necessary to speak with an attorney when dealing with these kinds of situations. An attorney can make sure that you notify your employer about a work-related injury as soon as possible. This is crucial because if you fail to notify your employer within a specified time limit, you could be barred from compensation.
Work Accident Notice Princeton NJ
Kamensky Cohen & Riechelson is a highly respected law firm with a track record of success and more than 40 years of experience in New Jersey and Pennsylvania. We have helped countless injured workers file workers’ compensation claims in Mercer County, NJ, including Lawrence, Hightstown, and Robbinsville. Our workers’ comp attorneys provide personalized attention to clients, so we will keep you informed during every step of the process. Call KCR today to discuss your case and explore your legal options.
Time Limits for Notifying Employers of Injuries in Mercer County, New Jersey
An injured worker in New Jersey has just 120 days to notify their employer of the job-related injury. If the injured worker fails to notify their employer within 120 days of the accident, they could be barred from filing a workers’ compensation claim.
Additionally, if your employer is not notified of the injury within 14 days of the accident, they will be under no obligation to provide you with benefits until notice is given. This means that the sooner you file a workers’ comp claim, the quicker you can start to get benefits for medical treatment and other related expenses.
If you suffer from an occupational disease, you must notify your employer within 90 days from the date on which you knew or should have known the nature of your illness and its relation to your employment. Alternatively, if you are no longer employed in the same position, you must notify your employer within five months from the date on which you ceased to be exposed to the occupational disease.
Statutes of Limitations for Workers’ Compensation Claims in Princeton, NJ
Although notice provisions are not the same as statutes of limitations, both require the injured worker to take certain actions within a specified time period or risk losing their legal right to workers’ compensation. However, this means that notification alone will not be sufficient to maintain your legal rights; you must also file a formal petition within two years in order to receive workers’ compensation.
Free Consultation with Hopewell NJ Workers’ Comp Attorneys
The experienced workers’ compensation attorneys at Kamensky Cohen & Riechelson are prepared to assist you with your workers’ comp claim. We handle all workers’ compensation cases on a contingency fee basis, so we only get paid after we win your case. Call us now to speak with a member of our legal team, or email us to schedule a meeting at our Trenton or Pennington offices.